link Source:
date_range Starts on July 27, 2015
event_note Ends on August 2, 2015
list 6 sequences
assignment Level : Introductory
chat_bubble_outline Language : English
card_giftcard 288 points
Users' reviews
0 reviews

Key Information

credit_card Free access
verified_user Free certificate
timer 36 hours in total

About the content

Explore why the author of One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of the 20th century’s leading writers in this free online course

more_horiz Read more
more_horiz Read less


Gabriel García Márquez is a Colombian writer, who won the Literature Nobel Prize in 1982. He has been recognised as one of the world’s leading writers in the second half of the 20th century. His works have been translated into many languages, been adapted for TV and film, and inspired many subsequent works of art. Explore five works set in the fictional village of Macondo The main goal of this course is to explore the literary contributions of Gabriel García Márquez to world literature, through five of his first few works. These are set in (or near) the fictional village of Macondo - a town inspired by the author’s birthplace, Aracataca. We will study: Leaf Storm - La Hojarasca No One Writes to the Colonel - El Coronel No Tiene Quien Le Escriba In Evil Hour - La Mala Hora Big Mama’s Funeral - Los Funerales de la Mamá Grande One Hundred Years of Solitude - Cien Años De Soledad Starting from a close reading of the texts, we will study different narrative dimensions such as: the author’s life in relation to his oeuvre; the idiosyncratic use of language; and the role of time and space in Garcia Marquez’s poetics. You will discover why he won international fame with 100 Years of Solitude, which remains a classic today. Learn with Gabriel García Márquez experts from Bogotá, Colombia Your guides for this course are experts in analysing the works of Gabriel García Márquez, from the Department of Literature at Universidad de los Andes in Colombia’s capital, Bogotá. The department trains writers, editors and teachers, and will bring you a unique perspective from Gabriel García Márquez’s native land. ¡Bienvenidos al curso Leer a Macondo! El principal objetivo del curso es explorar las contribuciones literarias de Gabriel García Márquez a la literatura universal a través de sus primeras cinco obras. Todos los videos en el curso se encuentran en español con subtítulos en inglés. Al final de cada actividad podrás encontrar todos los textos en español en un documento pdf. Tu participación en los foros podrá ser realizada tanto en español como en inglés. ¡Esperamos que sea una experiencia enriquecedora y que disfrutemos juntos de las obras de Gabriel García Márquez!.


  • Hugo Ramirez
  • Adolfo Caicedo
  • Andrea Junguito
  • Camilo Hernandez



FutureLearn is a massive open online course (MOOC) learning platform founded in December 2012.

It is a company launched and wholly owned by The Open University in Milton Keynes, England. It is the first UK-led massive open online course learning platform, and as of March 2015 included 54 UK and international University partners and unlike similar platforms includes four non-university partners: the British Museum, the British Council, the British Library and the National Film and Television School.

You are the designer of this MOOC?
What is your opinion on this resource ?